Alix Dobkin – Living With Lavender Jane (1997)


At long last, releasing in winter ’97: two absolute and essential Women’s Music classics on a single, double-length CD! Lavender Jane Loves Women, within weeks of its 1973 release, swept women off fences and out of closets. With delight and disbelief, they passed the records from hand to hand, or sent them speeding across oceans and continents. Everywhere women listened, amazed, to songs which actually verbalized the previously unthinkable joy and pride of Lesbian consciousness and identity. Alix’s equally wonderful Living With Lesbians soon followed. This appearance of women-centered culture signalled the end of women’s historical isolation and silence, and provided structures to voice the exuberant spirit and outlaw perspective of an idea long overdue. You’ve been needing to replace that vinyl anyway — treat yourself and loved ones to this piece of Herstory!

SKU: N/A Categories: ,


Please read – regarding the download files:

The MP3 files are compressed for easier downloading into a ZIP file. After placing your order,  click the link on the confirmation page to download it to your computer. You will also receive this link in your confirmation email. These files will not be simple to access if downloaded directly to a mobile device. If you are uncertain, download them to a computer.

On your computer, locate the file in your downloads area. Double click the zip file to access the MP3s. From there, add them to your preferred music library.

The MP3 files are saved with 128kbps CD quality compression. If you prefer higher fidelity or if you have any problems downloading the music, please contact us.

Track Listing:

1 The Woman in Your Life is You 3:02
2 Caledonia County 3:03
3 Eppie Morrie 3:29
4 Jovano 2:26
5 I Only Want to Be With You 2:09
6 The Little House 1:48
7 Her Precious Love 3:46
8 Fantasy Girl 2:30
9 Quartet 3:20
10 Jo’s B-Day Song 1:29
11 Charlie 1:45
12 Beware, Young Ladies 1:35
13 Talking Lesbian 2:41
14 A Woman’s Love 3:12
15 View from Gay Head 3:23
16 Hug-ee-Boo 0:13
17 Living with Lesbians 4:20
18 Chewing Gum 2:37
19 Hearts & Struggles 4:46
20 Amazon ABC 2:29


Additional information

Weight 5 oz

Full Album – Physical CD, Full Album – Download, 1 The Woman in Your Life is You, 2 Caledonia County, 3 Eppie Morrie, 4 Jovano, 5 I Only Want to Be With You, 6 The Little House, 7 Her Precious Love, 8 Fantasy Girl, 9 Quartet, 10 Jo's B-Day Song, 11 Charlie, 12 Beware, Young Ladies, 13 Talking Lesbian, 14 A Woman's Love, 15 View from Gay Head, 16 Hug-ee-Boo, 17 Living with Lesbians, 18 Chewing Gum, 19 Hearts & Struggles, 20 Amazon ABC


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Alix Dobkin – Living With Lavender Jane (1997)”

our newsletters are awesome!

stay up-to-date on the latest in women's music

Select your preference: general - goldenrod music updates local - mid-michigan music happenings

(your info is safe with us! promise.)