Catie Curtis – Catie Curtis (1997)


Originally released in 1997 on the defunct Guardian label, Catie Curtis’s second album marked her arrival as one of the most tuneful and perceptive songwriters of the Lilith generation. Matched with producer Roy Bittan of Bruce Springsteen’s E-Street Band, Curtis’s songs of emotional and spiritual recovery drew on her background as a social worker and, of all things, a drummer. The beat-savvy layers may be handled by session pro Kenny Aronoff and drum programmer George Black–Curtis does supply pizza box percussion on “I Don’t Cry Anymore”–but they blend sympathetically with Curtis’s percussive guitar work and Bittan’s spacious piano- and mandolin-rich production. Along with Triple-A radio hit “Soulfully” (featured in Dawson’s Creek), songs like “River Winding” and “Memphis” suggest a witty and wistful narrative ambition that separates her from her acoustic-aimed peers. –Roy Kasten

Truth From Lies

1 Soulfully 4:33
2 I Don’t Cry Anymore 5:11
3 River Winding 3:50
4 Falling Silent in the Dark 3:42
5 Heroes 3:36
6 Forgiveness 2:59
7 I Still Want To 3:46
8 Memphis 3:37
9 The Truth Is 3:09
10 Do Unto Others 3:59
11 Larry 4:44
12 Come to Me 3:08

SKU: N/A Categories: , ,


Please read – regarding the download files:

The audio files are compressed for easier downloading into one or more ZIP files. After placing your order,  click the link on the confirmation page to download it to your computer. You will also receive this link in your confirmation email. These files will not be simple to access if downloaded directly to a mobile device. If you are uncertain, download them to a computer.

On your computer, locate the file in your downloads area. Double click the zip file to access the MP3s. From there, add them to your preferred music library.

The audio files are saved with 128kbps CD quality compression. If you prefer higher fidelity or if you have any problems downloading the music, please contact us.


Additional information

Weight 5 oz

Full Album – Physical CD, Full Album – Download


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Catie Curtis – Catie Curtis (1997)”