Sally Potter – Summer’s Child CD (2022)


01 Churchbells
02 Eight More Miles to Louisville
03 Summer's Child
04 Joe Hill
05 The Union Maid
06 Caroline's Party
07 Roseville Fair
08 To My Old Brown Earth
09 This Land is Your Land
10 High in the Hills
11 Somebody Feels the Water
12 May the Light of Love
These are partial clips of the songs.

Summer’s Child will take you on a trip through the heart of America with timeless lyrics and brilliant new songs that promise to become tomorrow’s classics.

The first solo CD by Sally Potter, award-winning singer, song leader and music producer, this collection pays tribute to small towns and those drifting days of childhood, slowly passing that call us home. Kerrin Hoban’s tight, expressive lyrics, set to Potter’s steady, clawhammer banjo tunes, paint a picture of a time when children ran in the streets and through the woods with carefree abandon. Hoban and Potter’s High in the Hills is a joyful celebration of playful rhymes that celebrate the natural world—the woods filled with deer, squirrels, blackbirds, mockingbirds, bobcats, coyotes, which harmonize on the trail they’ve found.

These two originals are flanked by strong, emotional selections, Somebody Feels the Water (Thom Bishop), May the Light of Love (David Roth), and Carolyn’s Party (Ann Reed), all of which highlight the warmth experienced when we take time to make authentic connection with others.

Folk music royalty is represented by Woody’s Guthrie’s Union Maid and This Land is Your Land, and Pete Seeger’s To My Old Brown Earth. A union member, Potter continues the union theme with an a cappella rendition of Earl Robinson’s Joe Hill.

Potter’s strong, clear vocals, backed by her effortless clawhammer banjo, support three final selections: Roseville Fair (Bill Staines), The Old Church Bell (Monroe Gevedon), and Eight More Miles to Louisville (Grandpa Jones). 

Summer’s Child is a rare mix of twelve songs that are easy to listen to and sing along with. The recording comes with a 24-page booklet, including song lyrics, stories and stunning photographs of life in rural America, including Potter’s hometown of Morrison, Illinois. Note: The full album download includes a PDF of the booklet. 


SKU: N/A Categories: , , ,


Please read – regarding the download files:

The audio files are compressed for easier downloading into one or more ZIP files. After placing your order,  click the link on the confirmation page to download it to your computer. You will also receive this link in your confirmation email. These files will not be simple to access if downloaded directly to a mobile device. If you are uncertain, download them to a computer.

On your computer, locate the file in your downloads area. Double click the zip file to access the MP3s. From there, add them to your preferred music library.

The audio files are saved with 128kbps CD quality compression. If you prefer higher fidelity or if you have any problems downloading the music, please contact us.


Additional information

Weight 5 oz
Dimensions N/A

Full Album – Physical CD, Full Album – Download, I. The Old Church Bell, 2. Eight More Miles to Louisville, 3. Summer’s Child, 4. Joe Hill, 5. Union Maid, 6. Carolyn’s Party, 7. Roseville Fair, 8. To My Old Brown Earth, 9. This Land iS Your Land, 10. High in the Hills, 11. Somebody Feels the Water, 12. May the Light of Love


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sally Potter – Summer’s Child CD (2022)”

You may also like…