Catie Curtis – Hello Stranger (2009)


When the singer/songwriter movement boomed in the mid-1990s, Catie Curtis was at its core. A veteran artist with a 15 year career, Curtis has recorded nine solo albums and has toured with the Lilith Fair as well as Dar Williams and Mary Chapin Carpenter. Her songs have appeared in numerous television shows (Dawson’s Creek, Felicity, Grey’s Anatomy and Alias) and independent films (500 Miles to Graceland, A Slipping Down Life). And in 2009 she was honored to be selected to perform at the Obama inauguration in Washington D.C.
Over the years, Curtis’ many fans have requested stripped down version of her classic songs, capturing the spirit and intimacy of her live shows. With Hello Stranger, Curtis achieves that career goal. The album, recorded in Nashville, features Curtis in the company of a select group of Nashville all-star pickers
including Stuart Duncan (fiddle, mandolin), Alison Brown (banjo), Todd Phillips (bass), George Marinelli (guitar/mandolin/dobro) and Kenny Malone (percussion) on re-workings of some fan favorites as well as a few choice covers. Guests Darrell Scott and Mary Gauthier dropped by for vocal appearances on several
cuts, and the resulting album is reminiscent of Steve Earle’s Train A Comin’ project in its intimacy, and shows a side of Curtis’ musical persona never before captured on CD. Highlight tracks include the Curtis chestnut “My Dad’s Yard”, the title track “Hello Stranger” (featuring a duet with Mary Gauthier) and a cover
of the Cat Steven’s Track Titles s classic “Tuesday’s Dead.”

Track LIsting:

1 100 Miles 4:27
2 Walking on a Wire 4:06
3 Hello Stranger 3:13
4 Tuesday’s Dead 3:33
5 Be Sixteen With Me 4:48
6 Don’t Want to Know (No Evil) 3:32
7 Dad’s Yard 4:39
8 I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to be Free 2:52
9 Passing Through 4:16
10 Deliver Me 3:33
11 Saint Lucy 3:11

SKU: N/A Categories: , ,


Please read – regarding the download files:

The audio files are compressed for easier downloading into one or more ZIP files. After placing your order,  click the link on the confirmation page to download it to your computer. You will also receive this link in your confirmation email. These files will not be simple to access if downloaded directly to a mobile device. If you are uncertain, download them to a computer.

On your computer, locate the file in your downloads area. Double click the zip file to access the MP3s. From there, add them to your preferred music library.

The audio files are saved with 128kbps CD quality compression. If you prefer higher fidelity or if you have any problems downloading the music, please contact us.


Additional information

Weight 5 oz

Full Album – Physical CD, Full Album – Download


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Catie Curtis – Hello Stranger (2009)”