Ferron – Thunder & Lighten-ing CD/DVD


These are partial clips of the songs.

This double disk package features the award-winning hour-long documentary, Thunder, about Ferron, made by Bitch and Billie Jo Cavallaro. Disc 2, Lighten-ing, is the accompanying album, a new recording of Ferron produced by Bitch.

The story:

Ferron is one of Canada’s most famous folksingers. Bitch is an indie-electro violinist/song-writer. They met in the early aughts on the ‘women’s music’ circuit and became fast friends. Together, they are unlikely inter-generational combo that remind us, that no matter the different styles, ages and backgrounds, true art and friendship is a pleasure to watch.

In 2008, Bitch produced a Ferron album, Boulder, that includes performances by Ani Difranco, The Indigo Girls, JD Samson, Julie Wolf, Lyndell Montgomery, Ulali, Tina G, Samantha Parton, Midtown Dickens and Geo Wyeth.

Since releasing Boulder, Bitch met visual artist/ video maker Billie Jo Cavallaro. Upon introducing Cavallaro to Ferron, Bitch and Billie Jo began to dream about making a documentary about the artist. After some encouragement from friends and co-producer Leslie Gearhart, they launched a Kickstarter campaign to begin the project.

One of the first things we hear Ferron say in Thunder is “I think all documentaries follow that sort of time-line life story approach…I just don’t…think like that.”

Thunder is not your average documentary. It doesn’t give us that timeline approach, nor does it tell Ferron’s entire life story. Instead, Cavallaro and Bitch capture a ‘window into the artist’—where we are affected on a subconscious level. It tells a tale of an intergenerational friendship that explores the ideas of legacy vs. invisibility and the artist vs. the world.

Lighten-ing, the accompanying album, is a great follow up to Boulder With some re-makes of Ferron’s classics, plus 3 never-before heard songs, including a collaborative song between Ferron and Bitch.

*We were honored to receive three awards for Thunder at the Wild Rose Film Festival in Des Moines, IA. Best Music in a Documentary, Best Editing, and Best Production.

SKU: N/A Categories: ,


Please read – regarding the download files:

The MP3 files are compressed for easier downloading into one or more ZIP files. After placing your order,  click the link on the confirmation page to download it to your computer. You will also receive this link in your confirmation email. These files will not be simple to access if downloaded directly to a mobile device. If you are uncertain, download them to a computer.

On your computer, locate the file in your downloads area. Double click the zip file to access the MP3s. From there, add them to your preferred music library.

The MP3 files are saved with 128kbps CD quality compression. If you prefer higher fidelity or if you have any problems downloading the music, please contact us.

Track Listing:

  1. Light of My Light
  2. Belly Bowl
  3. The Pledge
  4. Slender Wet Branches
  5. In the Meantime (Remix)
  6. The (H)unger Poems
  7. Army of You
  8. Cactus
  9. The Return
  10. Testimony (Live)

Release Date: 2013

Additional information

Weight 5 oz

Physical CD/DVD Set, CD Only Full Download, Light of My Light, Belly Bowl, The Pledge, Slender Wet Branches, In the Meantime (Remix), The (H)unger Poems, Army of You, Cactus, The Return, Testimony (Live)


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Ferron – Thunder & Lighten-ing CD/DVD”