Kay Gardner – Ouroboros (1993)


These are partial clips of the songs.

Subtitled Women’s Passages, this oratorio by Kay for 6 female soloists, women’s chorus and orchestra is set to exquisite solo texts by Charlie Hutchins (a woman), and powerful chant texts by Ila Suzanne. A live recording of its premiere performance at the 20th National Women’s Musical Festival in Bloomington IN, it is one of the largest-ever classical productions featuring women musicians: 84 voices, 40 orchestra members. Except it’s not classical, in the traditional sense. Performers as well as audience members were often teary-eyed during the performance, they were so profoundly moved. The work celebrates the ages of Woman, with each age corresponding to a holy day on the ancient Celtic calendar (solstices, equinoxes, Beltane, Etc.), is strongly centered in female spirituality, and relates to the birth/death/rebirth cycle. Lush and deeply healing (with music reminiscent of A Rainbow Path), it features stunning performances by soloists interwoven with choral interludes. Kay’s masterpiece; highly recommended!


SKU: N/A Categories: ,


Please read – regarding the download files:

The MP3 files are compressed for easier downloading into a ZIP file. After placing your order,  click the link on the confirmation page to download it to your computer. You will also receive this link in your confirmation email. These files will not be simple to access if downloaded directly to a mobile device. If you are uncertain, download them to a computer.

On your computer, locate the file in your downloads area. Double click the zip file to access the MP3s. From there, add them to your preferred music library.

The MP3 files are saved with 128kbps CD quality compression. If you prefer higher fidelity or if you have any problems downloading the music, please contact us.

Track Listing:

1 Beginning
2 Birth / Winter Solstice
3 Childhood / Imbolc
4 Puberty / Spring Equinox
5 Maidenhood / Beltane
6 Motherhood / Summer Solstice
7 Menopause / Lammas
8 Elderhood / Autumn Equinox
9 Death – Rebirth / Samhain

Additional information

Weight 5 oz

Full Album – Physical CD, Full Album – Download, 1 Beginning, 2 Birth / Winter Solstice, 3 Childhood / Imbolc, 4 Puberty / Spring Equinox, 5 Maidenhood / Beltane, 6 Motherhood / Summer Solstice, 7 Menopause / Lammas, 8 Elderhood / Autumn Equinox, 9 Death – Rebirth / Samhain


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kay Gardner – Ouroboros (1993)”